Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

06Feb10

On my birthday last year, my little sister bought me Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Classic Regency Romance – Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem! (The full title is in fact necessary.) I was excited to receive the book because I adore zombie-anythings–movies, books, games… it’s all good. I didn’t have time to read it until Winter break of this school year.

I did not love the book. It might be because I had never read Pride and Prejudice, the original–not that I’m particularly inclined to go back and read the original after reading this. It was pretty boring. Even the zombie fighting scenes were boring. There was no detail to the action. Each action scene felt like it read like this:  And Elizabeth slaughtered the zombies and they were no more.  All of the action read that way, actually. It was based primarily on dialogue, which works for some people… but I’m not particularly enchanted by their society or their characters.  I did enjoy the artwork, but it was just not enough to hold my interest.

I did end up finishing the thing, but it was really only because I had absolutely nothing else to do.  I’m sure this book would be enjoyed more by people who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and who also have a dark sense of humor.  I, apparently, only have a dark sense of humor.

No Responses Yet to “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

