Goodbye 2009

31Dec09

I’m not particularly heartbroken that the year is ending, as 2009 was something of a clusterfuck in as many ways as possible.  I’m not saying that this was the worst possible year ever, because lots of amazing things happened to me this year, but I am so beyond exhausted from everything.

Relationships

At the end of 2008, I was getting out of an unhealthy relationship and easing my way into a healthy one.  In the beginning of 2009, I dealt with more unhealthy relationships that either worked themselves out or I cut them out.  In the latter half of 2009, that healthy relationship I’d been cultivating actually… got better.  I started hanging out with the psychology club a lot more and we’ve grown into really good friends.  We’ve spent so much time hanging out and working together.

School

In the beginning of 2009, I had a great semester.  This last semester, in the latter half, was pretty damn miserable.  I took on too many classes and too many responsibilities.  However, that mess gave me some amazing chances.  I continued my awesomely fun research into psychopathy, and I’ll be presenting that research at two conferences in 2010!

I’m going to be graduating in May and that thought scares me more than everything.  I’ll be leaving everything and everyone I’ve come to know and love.  At the same time, I know I’ll be able to grow and continue on.  The future is exciting, even if it is scary.

Resolutions

So, that brings us to what almost every single post today has been about.  I very rarely keep my resolutions.  I can’t think of one that I kept from last year.  This year, I’m hoping to keep my resolutions… maybe by not making so many.

  1. Take more pictures.  I used to be really big into photography, and I used to be really good.  I don’t think I’ve taken a serious picture in several years.  I have a great camera and I never use it–mostly because it’s so damn big and my laptop is already attached to my back.  I’ll have to figure out a way around that.  I’ve already found one way:  I’m taking a black and white photography class this next semester.
  2. Get into grad school.
  3. Comment on more blogs.
  4. Figure out what to do with my hair on a daily basis.  I’ve been growing my hair out and it’s to my collarbone now.  I’m going to grow it a couple more inches, hopefully, so I’ve got a bit of time to figure out my ultimate style.  Until then, though, I need something.  Mom bought me a straightener/curling iron for Christmas, so I’ll practice more with that.
  5. Start exercising again.  I’ll definitely have time this upcoming semester, seeing as I only have three classes I’m taking on a regular basis.  My ultimate goal is one that’s difficult to measure:  I want to get comfortable enough to wear a bikini by graduation.  I think it’s doable.

I have about two and a half hours until 2010.  For the people that have already reached it, I hope you’re already enjoying the new year.  For those who have yet to get there, enjoy the last of 2009.  For me, even though it generally sucked, I wouldn’t think of trading it for the world.

Hello 2010.

3 Responses to “Goodbye 2009”

  1. 1 Deepak Raikwar

    Hi Squeaky,
    This is deepak from india. I m not properly visit and blog/forum but i search Awesome and i found u.I read ur blog, may i know abt u maens wht r u doing…ok first me…
    I m a Mechanical(B.E.) but now i m Software Engnieer in Mumbai(India). don’t mind for my communication coz it’s very bed.

    Keep in touch or can we net friend ? bye
    Thanks,
    Deepak Raikwar.

  2. Hi Deepak! Glad to have you commenting. I’m sure your English will improve with time. I know a little bit about programming, but not enough to make it as a software engineer. I’m a B.Sc in Psychology. I hope to keep hearing from you. :)

  3. 3 Deepak Raikwar

    Hey Very Good Morning,
    Thanks for reply, can i have ur email-id so we can talk more conviniently.
    I m frm India nd u ?
    bye bye.


Leave a Reply

