Everyone’s a Critic

13Dec09

A little over a week ago, I stumbled upon a blog post.  This blog post pretty much summed up my feelings about my year in art history classes:  “…much of what we are taught is important is STUPID–STUPID, and OVERRATED.”  We learned about all the most famous works of art, like the Mona Lisa, and I was bored.  Bored, bored, bored.

And my teacher understood how bored, bored, bored we are, so she threw in actual interesting pieces of art.

Mary posts one of the artists the teacher threw into the class to make it more interesting:  Durer.  As Mary so succinctly put it, Durer is metal.  I particularly enjoy dark, trippy pieces of work.

I have several more favorite pieces of art from that class.

Allegory of Venus, Cupid, Folly, and Time by Bronzino

Allegory of Venus, Cupid, Folly, and Time by Bronzino

It’s one of those paintings of the female figure that populates the art world, but this is a strange one.  Venus and Cupid (technically related) are making out.  That little Folly creature is enjoying the view, and Time definitely has a WTF-face.

The Garden of Earthly Delights by Bosch

The Garden of Earthly Delights by Bosch

The Garden of Earthly Delights is a huge piece.  It is meant to depict Paradise, then Earth with sinful people, then Hell where the Devil is torturing sinful people.  This was actually a piece they hung in bars at the time to pick up the drinker’s spirits.

Up close, there are so many strange little people in the piece.  There is even a store that sells statues of them–I want a couple so badly!

Saturn Devouring his Child by Goya

Saturn Devouring his Child by Goya

And my all time favorite:  Saturn Devouring his Child.  It’s a rough, dark, twisted piece and I love it for that.  Goya was a dark artist and always managed to make his subjects seem strangely monster-like and animalistic.

I have always managed to find exceptionally good–or at least interesting–art off the beaten track.  It’s always worth exploring.

3 Responses to “Everyone’s a Critic”

  1. If you’re interested, Bronzino’s Allegory is the subject of my historical novel “Cupid and the Silent Goddess”, which imagines how the painting might have been created in Florence in 1544-5.

    See:
    http://www.twentyfirstcenturypublishers.com/index.asp?PageID=496

  2. That actually sounds really cool. I’ve put it on my list for when I have extra spending money. :)

  3. 3 jojo

    worst blog ever ;^(


Leave a Reply

