My Job

15Nov09

I love my job, I really do.  I work as a seamstress in a higher-end clothing store.  That means I get to hang out in the backroom, not interact with customers, and watch movies and listen to music while I work.  It.  Is.  Great!

However, there are some parts of the job I hate.  I have four complaints:

  1. I particularly hate pre-wrinkled jeans.  The bottoms of the jeans look like they’ve been washed and worn for months, so the bottoms are bunched up and wrinkled.  It takes forever to press those wrinkles out.
  2. Even more than pre-wrinkled jeans, I hate vented jeans.  Vented jeans have a slit in the side of the leg for about two inches, making the bottom of the jeans wider.  (You could just buy flared jeans, I promise.)  Customers often want me to maintain the vent when I take up their jeans.  It’s a pain in the ass to keep the vent, because most jeans aren’t made to take the vent any higher than it was.  Most frustrating is when the customer wants me to add vents.  It adds another 20+ minutes to my total time spent on the damn jeans.
  3. I had one customer want me to change all of the buttons on her jeans when none were damaged, just because she liked the newer buttons better.

    I had another customer want me to take out the perfectly fine zipper fly because it was pulling open.  Guess what?  It’s not because of the zipper.  It’s because the pants are too tight.  Get bigger jeans.  Lots of your requests are ridiculous.

  4. My biggest complaint is people who do not wash their jeans before they bring them in for me to alter.  One guy wore his jeans into the store on a particularly stormy day.  His jeans were caked with mud up to the knee.  I don’t know why he wore those jeans into the store and changed into the jeans he was carrying.  It makes no sense to me.

    The most disgusting pair of jeans I’d seen though… I could not touch them.  It was literally a biohazard.  This lady wanted her jeans patched in the back.  This in and of itself was a nearly impossible task, because it would have involved me reconstructing the entire back half of the jeans.  What made it completely unbearable was the fact that the inside of the jeans were almost completely soaked in blood.  Blood.

What really makes it all worth it is how amazing my coworkers are.  My boss is hilarious and friendly.  My coworkers adore me.  There can be a high turnover rate, but the people I love the most stick around.  One even bought me a cookie yesterday!  Little things make everything the best.

2 Responses to “My Job”

  1. 1 Ryan

    People are crazy.

    So is this job a job you do while you’re in college? What are you going to college for?

  2. Yeah, it’s a great part-time job. I’m almost done with my Bachelor of Science in Psychology.


Leave a Reply

